political News


Assembly Elections Announced for WB, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Assam & Puducherry

... Editorial Team

Election Commission has announced the dates for the Assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Assam and Union Territory of Puducherry. The elctions will be held between April 4, 2016 and May 16, 2016, spread over 43 days.

While Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry will have single-day polling on May 16, West Bengal will have elections in six phases and Assam in two phases.Counting of votes in all the States will be held on May 19.

The announcement to this effect was made by the Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi on Friday.

For the first time NOTA (None of the above) will have a symbol in these elections. The  symbol has been created by the National School of Design and will be placed at the bottom of the list of candidates.

Mr Zaidi has announced that for the first time there will be all-women polling booths as well. If possible polling centres will be set up in blind schools, leprosy centres to ensure inclusiveness. He said that mobile squads would have GPS-fitted vehicles and be accompanied by central forces to ensure that they quickly attend to complaints. All polling stations in West Bengal and Assam will be covered by the CRPF.

Each districts will have five Central observers to monitor the elections.The photographs of all candidates will be included along with their name and the symbol on the EVMs. This has been done to eliminate confusion for voters, Mr. Zaidi said.